Institut für Arbeitsmarkt- und Berufsforschung

Navigation zu den wichtigsten Bereichen.

Unternavigation.

Inhaltsbereich: Institut für Arbeitsmarkt- und Berufsforschung

Establishment History Panel (BHP)

Data source:

The Establishment History Panel (BHP) is composed of cross sectional datasets since 1975 for West Germany and 1992 for East Germany. Every cross section contains all the establishments in Germany which are covered by the IAB Employment History (BeH) on June 30th. These are all establishments with at least one employee liable to social security on the reference date. Establishments with no employee liable to social security but with at least one marginal part-time employee are included since 1999. The cross sections can be combined to form a panel.

Contents:

The BHP contains information about the branch of industry and the location of an establishment. Furthermore, it reports the numbers of employees liable to social security and marginal part-time employees, both in total and broken down by gender, age, occupational status, qualification and nationality. Means and medians of wages for full-time employees are given, too. Additional datasets providing information about (gross) worker flows and about foundations and closures of establishments are available on request.

Dataset Descriptions and Frequencies

 Version      

 FDZ Datenreport   

 Frequencies and Labels   

BHP 7514 (1975-2014)  FDZ-Datenreport 3/2016   (de)
 FDZ-Datenreport 3/2016   (en)
 Fallzahlen und Labels  (de)
 Frequencies and labels  (en)

Data Access

The IAB Establishment Panel is available via the following ways of access:

  • On-site use at the FDZ. Further information on Applying for on-site use.
  • Remote data Access. Further information on Applying for remote data access.

Test data

Test data of the BHP are intended to enable you to write and test evaluation programs. The test data are generated by means of sampling and disassociation of the original data. They are not eligible for analysis.

The test data include all variables of the original data with the same variable name, variable label and value label. Variables which are particulary sensitive in compliance with the current data protection legislation are included in the test data, but only by request in the original data. It is possible to generate a panel over all waves but without coherence of characteristics over time.

Other working tools

A short description of the version BH7514 can be found in FDZ-Methodenreport 03/2017.

Further working tools as the overview on classifications of economic activities, a list of upper earnings limits and marginal part-time income thresholds and papers on working with the FDZ data can be found here.

>> Further information on older versions of the BHP datasets (Old versions are only available for replication studies and only in justified exceptional cases for new Projects).

 

Infobereich.

Abspann.

Institut für Arbeitsmarkt- und Berufsforschung

Navigation zu den wichtigsten Bereichen.

Inhaltsbereich: Institut für Arbeitsmarkt- und Berufsforschung

Betriebs-Historik-Panel (BHP)

Datenquelle:

Das Betriebs-Historik-Panel (BHP) setzt sich aus Querschnittsdatensätzen ab dem Jahr 1975 für Westdeutschland und ab 1992 für Ostdeutschland zusammen. Jeder Querschnitt umfasst alle Betriebe des gesamtdeutschen Raumes, die zur Jahresmitte (Stichtag: 30.6.) in der Beschäftigten-Historik (BeH) erfasst sind. Von 1975 bis 1998 sind das alle Betriebe mit mindestens einem sozialversicherungspflichtig Beschäftigten. Ab 1999 zählen zu diesen Betrieben auch solche, die zwar keine sozialversicherungspflichtigen aber zumindest einen geringfügigen Beschäftigten aufweisen. Die einzelnen Querschnittsdatensätze können zu einem Panel verbunden werden.

Inhalte:

Das Betriebs-Historik-Panel enthält neben den Informationen zum Wirtschaftszweig sowie dem Standort des Betriebes Angaben über die Anzahl der sozialversicherungspflichtig und geringfügig Beschäftigten, sowohl insgesamt als auch aufgeteilt nach verschiedenen Kriterien wie Geschlecht, Alter, Erwerbsstatus, Qualifikation und Staatsangehörigkeit. Darüber hinaus werden Mittelwerte und Mediane des Tagesentgelts der Vollzeitbeschäftigten ausgewiesen. Des weiteren stehen Ergänzungsdatensätze zur Verfügung, die Informationen zu den Bruttobestandsveränderungen (Zugänge und Abgänge) sowie Betriebsgründungen und -schließungen beinhalten.

Datensatzbeschreibungen und Auszählungen

 Version      

 FDZ-Datenreport   

 Auszählungen und Labels   

BHP 7514 (1975-2014)

 FDZ-Datenreport 3/2016 (de)
 FDZ-Datenreport 3/2016 (en)
 Fallzahlen und Labels (de)
 Frequencies and labels (en)

Datenzugang

Das Betriebs-Historik-Panel steht den Forscherinnen und Forschern über folgende Datenzugangswege zur Verfügung:

Testdaten

Die Testdaten des BHP dienen der Erstellung und Prüfung von Auswertungsprogrammen im Vorfeld der Datenfernverarbeitung. Die Testdaten wurden durch Ziehung einer Substichprobe und Verfremdung der Daten bei gleichzeitigem Erhalt wichtiger Datenstrukturen erzeugt. Dadurch sind keine inhaltlichen Auswertungen mit den Testdaten möglich.

Im Einzelnen gilt für die Testdaten: Alle Variablen der Originaldaten sind enthalten, haben die gleichen Variablennamen und Variablen- und Wertelabels. Sensible Merkmale sind in den Testdaten enthalten, in den Originaldaten nur auf Antrag. Die einzelnen Wellen können zu einem Längsschnitt aufgebaut werden, jedoch gehen Zusammenhänge im Zeitverlauf verloren.

Weitere Arbeitshilfen

Eine kurze Beschreibung der Version BH7514 finden Sie im FDZ-Methodenreport 03/2017

Weitere Arbeitshilfen wie Informationen zu den angebotenen Klassifikationen der Wirtschaftszweige, eine Übersicht der Beitragsbemessungs- und Geringfügigkeitsgrenzen, sowie Publikationen zur Arbeit mit den FDZ-Daten finden Sie hier.

>> Weitere Informationen zu älteren BHP-Versionen (Ältere Versionen werden nur noch für Replikationsstudien und nur in begründeten Ausnahmefällen auch für neue Projekte angeboten).
 

Infobereich.

Abspann.