Institut für Arbeitsmarkt- und Berufsforschung

Navigation zu den wichtigsten Bereichen.

Unternavigation.

Inhaltsbereich: Institut für Arbeitsmarkt- und Berufsforschung

IZA/IAB Administrative Evaluation Dataset (AED) and IZA/IAB Linked Evaluation Dataset 1993-2010 (LED)

IZA/IAB Administrative Evaluation Dataset (AED) and IZA/IAB Linked Evaluation Dataset 1993-2010 (LED) have been developed in the context of a research project on the evaluation of active labour market programs by the Institute of Labor Economics (IZA), Bonn. In cooperation with the IAB, these comprehensive datasets were compiled and documented for external users.

IZA/IAB Administrative Evaluation Dataset (AED)

The IZA/IAB Administrative Evaluation Dataset (AED) is a 4.66 percent random sample of inflows into unemployment from 1st January 2001 to 31th December 2008 drawn from the Integrated Employment Biographies (IEB) of the Institute for Employment Research (IAB). The IEB consist of all individuals in Germany, which are characterized by at least one of the following employment status: employment subject to social security (in the data since 1975), marginal part-time employment (in the data since 1999), benefit receipt according to the German Social Code III or II (SGB III since 1975, SGB II since 2005), officially registered as job-seeking at the German Federal Employment Agency or (planned) participation in programs of active labour market policies (in the data since 2000). These data, which come from different sources, are merged in the IEB.

The AED includes information of the IEB on approx. 900,000 individuals for the period 1993 to 2010. As a result the AED is a comprehensive dataset which allows for analyses on the effectivity of active labour market programs.

IZA/IAB Linked Evaluation Dataset 1993-2010 (LED)

For selected persons of the AED sample with entries in unemployment between June 2007 and May 2008, a telephone interview was carried out on behalf of IZA. In total, about 17,400 people were interviewed. (The compiled “IZA Evaluation Data Set Survey” is available at the IZA.) These persons were asked for their consent to link the survey data with the information available at the IAB: 15,274 persons gave their consent and finally the data of 15,173 individuals could be matched and the IZA/IAB Linked Evaluation Dataset 1993-2010 (LED) could be compiled.

The survey data comprises detailed information on the individuals and their labour market activities, starting at entry into unemployment until three years after. The administrative data of the IAB comprise individual-level data about the employment situation from social security notifications and information about benefits received, job search and participation in active labour market programs originating from the operational business of the Federal Employment Agency.

The LED offers a new perspective for empirical labour market research. One the one hand, it is suitable for an evaluation of selected active labour market policy instruments, like training programs or wage subsidies. But on the other hand, the combination of rich individual characteristics and longitudinal data provides an ideal base for an empirical analysis of many other aspects of the transition process from unemployment to employment including the interplay of search behaviour, personality, psychological factors, social networks, attitudes and labour market outcomes. Due to the special sampling design with focus on entrances into unemployment from an existing employment, the sample is not representative for job-seeking persons in general.

Information on the different versions of the Evaluation Dataset

The Evaluation Datasets are available in two different versions:

  • IZA/IAB Administrative Evaluation Dataset (AED)
  • IZA/IAB Linked Evaluation Dataset 1993-2010 (LED)

The substantial differences between AED and LED can be seen in the number of included individuals and variables. While the AED contains detailed employment biographies from the IEB for approx. 900,000 individuals, the LED comprises survey data linked to strongly reduced information from the IEB for approx. 15,000 persons.

AED may only be used during research visits (including remote data access). LED is available as a Scientific Use File (SUF) at the research data centres of IZA and IAB.

Dataset Descriptions and Frequencies

 Version      

 FDZ Datenreport   

 Frequencies and Labels  

IZA/IAB Administrative Evaluation Dataset (AED)  FDZ-Datenreport 03/2015 (de)
 FDZ-Datenreport 03/2015 (en)

 Auszählungen und Labels (de)
 Auszählungen und Labels (en)

IZA/IAB Linked Evaluation Dataset 1993-2010 (LED)  FDZ-Datenreport 02/2017 (en)
 
 Auszählungen und Labels (de)
 Frequencies and labels (en)

Data Access

AED and LED are available via the following ways of Access:

IZA/IAB Administrative Evaluation Dataset (AED)
IZA/IAB Linked Evaluation Dataset 1993-2010 (LED)
  • Scientific Use Files (SUF). Further information on Requesting a SUF.
    Please note: The FDZ only provides the administrative part of the SUF (IZA/IAB Linked Evaluation Dataset (administrative data v3)). The second part (IZA/IAB Linked Evaluation Dataset (survey data v3)) has to be requested at the IZA. Due to different legal requirements for data access at IAB and IZA the permission for data access of one of these institutions does not entitle to data access at the other institution by default. After the two parts of the SUF have been transferred, the researchers have to merge the data on their own by using the enclosed individual ID.

Test Data of the weakly anonymous Version

Test data in Stata are available in order to allow for the preparation of programs to facilitate remote data access as well as on-site use:

Test data for STATA: Test data for Stata (16 MB)

TEST DATA ARE RANDOM AND THEREFORE NOT ELIGIBLE FOR ANALYSIS!

Other Working Tools

Further working tools as the overview on classifications of economic activities, a list of upper earnings limits and marginal part-time income thresholds, a list of BHP variables and papers on working with the FDZ data can be found here.

Back to top

 

Infobereich.

Abspann.

Institut für Arbeitsmarkt- und Berufsforschung

Navigation zu den wichtigsten Bereichen.

Inhaltsbereich: Institut für Arbeitsmarkt- und Berufsforschung

IZA/IAB Administrativer Evaluationsdatensatz (AED) und IZA/IAB Linked Evaluation Dataset 1993-2010 (LED)

IZA/IAB Administrativer Evaluationsdatensatz (AED) und IZA/IAB Linked Evaluation Dataset 1993-2010 (LED) entstanden im Rahmen eines Forschungsvorhabens zur Evaluation von Maßnahmen der aktiven Arbeitsmarktpolitik des Forschungsinstituts zur Zukunft der Arbeit (IZA) in Bonn und wurden in Zusammenarbeit mit dem IAB für externe Nutzerinnen und Nutzer aufbereitet und dokumentiert.

IZA/IAB Administrativer Evaluationsdatensatz (AED)

Der IZA/IAB Administrative Evaluationsdatensatz (AED) ist eine ca. 4,66%-Zufallsstichprobe von Personen mit Eintritt in Arbeitslosigkeit im Zeitraum von Januar 2001 bis Dezember 2008 aus den Integrierten Erwerbsbiografien (IEB) des Instituts für Arbeitsmarkt- und Berufsforschung (IAB). Die IEB ermöglichen es, den Erwerbsverlauf einer Person tagesgenau nachzuvollziehen. Sie bestehen aus der Gesamtheit der Personen, die im Beobachtungszeitraum mindestens einmal einen der folgenden Erwerbsstatus aufweisen: Sozialversicherungspflichtige Beschäftigung (erfasst ab 1975), geringfügige Beschäftigung (erfasst ab 1999), Bezug von Leistungen nach dem Rechtskreis SGB III (erfasst ab 1975) oder SGB II (erfasst ab 2005), bei der Bundesagentur für Arbeit (BA) als arbeitsuchend gemeldet (erfasst ab 2000) oder (geplante) Teilnahme an arbeitsmarktpolitischer Maßnahme (erfasst ab 2000). Diese aus unterschiedlichen Datenquellen stammenden Informationen werden in den IEB zusammengeführt.

Für den AED werden für ca. 900.000 Personen aus der IEB die Informationen für den Zeitraum 1993 bis 2010 verwendet. Der AED bildet damit eine umfassende Datenbasis zur Analyse der Effektivität von Maßnahmen der aktiven Arbeitsmarktpolitik.

IZA/IAB Linked Evaluation Dataset 1993-2010 (LED)

Ausgewählte Personen der AED-Stichprobe, die zwischen Juni 2007 und Mai 2008 arbeitslos wurden, wurden im Auftrag des IZA telefonisch befragt. Insgesamt haben ca. 17.400 Personen teilgenommen. (Das so erhobene IZA Evaluation Data Set Survey ist beim IZA verfügbar.) Diese Personen wurden zudem um ihre Einwilligung zur Verknüpfung der Befragungsdaten mit den am IAB vorliegenden Informationen gebeten.  15.274 Personen erteilten hierzu ihre Zustimmung. Für 15.173 Personen konnten die Daten erfolgreich zusammengeführt werden und somit der IZA/IAB Linked Evaluation Dataset 1993-2010 (LED) generiert werden.

Die Befragungsdaten beinhalten detaillierte Informationen zu den Personen und ihren Arbeitsarbeitsmarktaktivitäten, beginnend mit dem Eintritt in Arbeitslosigkeit und in den folgenden drei Jahren. Die administrativen Daten des IAB umfassen personenbezogene Angaben zu Beschäftigungsverhältnissen aus den Meldungen zur Sozialversicherung sowie Informationen zu Leistungsbezug, Arbeitsuche und Teilnahme an Maßnahmen der aktiven Arbeitsmarkpolitik aus den operativen Geschäftsprozessen der Bundesagentur für Arbeit.

Der LED eröffnet neue Perspektiven für die empirische Arbeitsmarktforschung. Einerseits eignen sich die Daten für die Evaluation einzelner Instrumente der aktiven Arbeitsmarktpolitik wie Trainingsmaßnahmen oder Lohnkostenzuschüsse. Andererseits ermöglicht die Kombination aus umfangreichen Personenmerkmalen und Längsschnittinformationen auch empirische Analysen zu vielen Aspekten des Übergangs von Arbeitslosigkeit in Beschäftigung, einschließlich des Zusammenspiels von Suchverhalten, Persönlichkeitseigenschaften, psychologischen Faktoren, sozialer Netzwerke, Einstellungen und dem Erfolg auf dem Arbeitsmarkt. Aufgrund des besonderen Stichprobendesigns mit dem Fokus auf Eintritte in Arbeitslosigkeit aus einer vorangegangenen Beschäftigung ist die Stichprobe nicht repräsentativ für Arbeitslose insgesamt.

Unterschiede zwischen den Versionen

Die Evaluationsdaten liegen in zwei verschiedenen Versionen vor:

  • IZA/IAB Administrativer Evaluationsdatensatz (AED)
  • IZA/IAB Linked Evaluation Dataset 1993-2010 (LED)

Die zentralen Unterschiede zwischen AED und LED liegen in der Anzahl der erfassten Personen und im Variablenkanon. Während im AED detaillierte Erwerbsbiografien aus den IEB für ca. 900.000 Personen vorliegen, enthält das LED für ca. 15.000 Personen die Informationen aus der Befragung verknüpft mit den stark vergröberten Informationen aus der IEB.

AED kann nur im Rahmen von Gastaufenthalten inklusive Datenfernverarbeitung genutzt werden. LED wird als Scientific Use File (SUF) über die Forschungsdatenzentren des IZA und des IAB zur Verfügung gestellt.

Datensatzbeschreibungen und Auszählungen

 Version      

 FDZ-Datenreport   

 Auszählungen und Labels   

IZA/IAB Administrativer Evaluationsdatensatz (AED)  FDZ-Datenreport 03/2015 (de)
 FDZ-Datenreport 03/2015 (en)

 Auszählungen und Labels (de)
 Auszählungen und Labels (en)

IZA/IAB Linked Evaluation Dataset 1993-2010 (LED)  FDZ-Datenreport 02/2017 (en)
 
 Auszählungen und Labels (de)
 Frequencies and labels (en)

Datenzugang

Je nach Version stehen unterschiedliche Datenzugangswege zur Verfügung:

IZA/IAB Administrativer Evaluationsdatensatz (AED)
IZA/IAB Linked Evaluation Dataset 1993-2010 (LED)
  • Scientific Use Files (SUF). Weitere Informationen zur Beantragung eines SUF am FDZ.
    Bitte beachten Sie: Das FDZ stellt nur den administrativen Teil des SUF (IZA/IAB Linked Evaluation Dataset (administrative Daten v3)) zur Verfügung. Der andere Teil mit den Befragungsdaten (IZA/IAB Linked Evaluation Dataset (Survey-Daten v3)) muss getrennt beim IZA beantragt werden. Aufgrund der unterschiedlichen rechtlichen Grundlagen für den Datenzugang beim IAB und IZA schließt eine Genehmigung des Datenzugangs durch die eine der beiden Institutionen nicht automatisch die Genehmigung durch die andere Institution mit ein. Nach Übermittlung der beiden Teile des SUF müssen die Forscherinnen und Forscher die Daten selbst über die enthaltene Personen-ID verknüpfen.

Testdaten für IZA/IAB Administrativer Evaluationsdatensatz (AED)

Um fehlerfreie Programme für die Datenfernverarbeitung und zur Vorbereitung von Gastaufenthalten schreiben zu können, stehen den Nutzerinnen und Nutzern Testdaten für Stata zur Verfügung:

Testdaten für Stata (16 MB)

MIT DEN TESTDATEN SIND KEINE INHALTLICHEN AUSWERTUNGEN MÖGLICH!

Weitere Arbeitshilfen

Weitere Arbeitshilfen wie Informationen zu den angebotenen Klassifikationen der Wirtschaftszweige, eine Übersicht der Beitragsbemessungs- und Geringfügigkeitsgrenzen, eine Liste der BHP-Merkmale, sowie Publikationen zur Arbeit mit den FDZ-Daten finden Sie hier.

nach oben

 

Infobereich.

Abspann.