Institut für Arbeitsmarkt- und Berufsforschung

Navigation zu den wichtigsten Bereichen.

Unternavigation.

Inhaltsbereich: Institut für Arbeitsmarkt- und Berufsforschung

IAB-SOEP Migration Sample

Data source:

The IAB-SOEP Migration Sample is a household survey conducted jointly by the Institute for Employment Research (IAB) in Nuremberg and the German Socio-Economic Panel (SOEP) at DIW Berlin. The first three waves of the survey were carried out from 2013 to 2015, where a direct interview was sought with 7088 persons.
Anchor persons have been drawn from administrative records in the Integrated Employment Biographies (IEB) of the IAB. Some countries of origin have been drawn with a higher probability to ensure a sufficient number of observations. These groups consist of immigrants from the EU-New Member States and Southern European countries.
The individuals have been interviewed with a personal and a household questionnaire. All family members aged 16 years or older were also asked the questions of the personal questionnaire.
The survey will be conducted annually, the questionnaires are similar to the survey “Living in Germany” from the SOEP at DIW Berlin
.

Contents: 

The IAB-SOEP Migration Sample provides a database which permits to gain new insights by addressing various aspects of immigration regarding activation and attraction of skilled immigrants and to provide clear guidance regarding immigration, integration and labour market policies in Germany. The database contains the following information: Migration history (Year of immigration, migration history, search behaviour and information channels, social Networks), Education history (highest obtained schooling and vocational degrees, years of schooling, education acquired at home and abroad, acknowledgement procedure of foreign credentials, language proficiency), Employment history (Employment, self-employment, unemployment in Germany and in foreign countries), Labour market background (Earnings, full- and part-time employment, working hours, benefit assistance, reservation wage, participation in active labour market policies), Return migration (Return migration intensions, return migration, limited survey of returned immigrants), Miscellaneous (Remittances to home countries, life satisfaction, risk preferences, social integration and acceptance).

Please find more detailed information on the dataset in the outline.

Information on the different versions of the data

The IAB-SOEP Migration Sample is available in two different versions:

  • IAB-SOEP Migration Sample: Survey Data (IAB-SOEP-MIG-Survey Data)
  • IAB-SOEP Migration Sample linked to administrative data of the IAB (IAB-SOEP-MIG-ADIAB)

IAB-SOEP-MIG-Survey Data contain the whole survey information for waves 1 to 3. (2013-2015).

IAB-SOEP-MIG-ADIAB makes it possible to analyze survey and administrative data for a part of the participants in the IAB-SOEP Migration Sample simultaneously. The linked administrative data set contains both variables with individual characteristics and characteristics of the establishments the respondents work at. The administrative data cover the years 1975-2014. Thus, episodes which started or ended after the actual interview are included as well.

The IAB-SOEP-MIG-Survey Data can be downloaded by the applying institutions as a Scientific Use File (SUF). They are also contained in the SOEP data which can be ordered at the SOEP at DIW Berlin.
The IAB-SOEP-MIG-ADIAB may only be used during research visits (included remote data access).

IAB-SOEP-MIG-Survey Data: Dataset Descriptions and Questionnaires

Dataset descriptions
Questionnaires

Questionnaires in German and English and as helping tool in Polish, Turkish, Rumanian und Russian.

Further information and working tools about the IAB-SOEP Migration Sample can be found at the SOEP at DIW Berlin.

IAB-SOEP-MIG-ADIAB: Dataset Descriptions and Frequencies

 FDZ Datenreport

 Frequencies and Labels

 FDZ-Datenreport 11/2016 (de)
 
 Auszählungen und Labels (de)
 Frequencies and labels (en)

Data Access

The IAB-SOEP Migration Sample is available via the following ways of access:

IAB-SOEP-MIG-Survey Data
IAB-SOEP-MIG-ADIAB

Test Data IAB-SOEP-MIG-ADIAB

Usually test data are available in order to allow for the preparation of programs to facilitate remote data access as well as on-site use. But there are currently no test data available for IAB-SOEP-MIG-ADIAB.
We recommend users to apply for the scientific use file IAB-SOEP Migration sample in order to prepare the analysis of the survey data. Further information on requesting a SUF.
Furthermore we recommend users to make use of the test data for the Sample of Integrated Labour Market Biographies in order to prepare the analysis of the administrative data. Although these data are based on a different sample, they contain the same variables. 

Back to top

 

 

Infobereich.

Abspann.

Institut für Arbeitsmarkt- und Berufsforschung

Navigation zu den wichtigsten Bereichen.

Inhaltsbereich: Institut für Arbeitsmarkt- und Berufsforschung

IAB-SOEP Migrationsstichprobe

Datenquelle:

Die IAB-SOEP Migrationsstichprobe ist eine Panel Haushaltsbefragung, die gemeinsam vom Institut für Arbeitsmarkt- und Berufsforschung (IAB) und dem Sozio-ökonomischen Panel (SOEP) am DIW Berlin durchgeführt wird. Die ersten drei Wellen wurden 2013 bis 2015 durchgeführt, insgesamt wurden 7088 Personen befragt.
Die Ankerpersonen wurden aus den Integrierten Erwerbsbiografien (IEB) gezogen. Bestimmte Herkunftsgruppen erhielten eine höhere Ziehungswahrscheinlichkeit, um hinreichend große Fallzahlen für spezifische Gruppen zu gewährleisten. Dazu gehören insbesondere Personen aus den neuen EU-Mitgliedsländern und Personen aus Südeuropa.
Die Befragung der Ankerpersonen findet mit einem Personen- und einem Haushaltsfragebogen statt. Alle Familienmitglieder über 16 Jahren in den jeweiligen Haushalten werden ebenfalls mit dem Personenfragebogen befragt.
Die Befragung wird jährlich durchgeführt, das Fragenprogramm orientiert sich an der Befragung „Leben in Deutschland“ des SOEP am DIW Berlin
.

Inhalte:

Die IAB-SOEP Migrationsstichprobe bietet eine Datenbasis, mit der neue Erkenntnisse für die Erschließung von Fachkräftepotenzialen sowie für die Einwanderungs-, Integrations- und Arbeitsmarktpolitik in Deutschland gewonnen werden können. Folgende Inhalte werden erhoben: Migrationsbiografie (Einreisezeitpunkt, frühere Migrationsepisoden, Such- und Informationsverhalten), Bildungsbiografie (Höchste Bildungs- und Berufsabschlüsse, Schuljahre, Bildungserwerb im In- und Ausland, Anerkennungsverfahren, Sprachkompetenz), Erwerbsbiografie (Beschäftigung, Selbständigkeit, Arbeitslosigkeit in Deutschland und dem Herkunftsland), Arbeitsmarktinformationen (Verdienste, Voll- und Teilzeitarbeit, Arbeitsstunden, Leistungsbezug, Reservationslohn, Teilnahme an Maßnahmen der aktiven Arbeitsmarktpolitik), Rückkehrmigration (Rückkehrmigrationsabsichten, Rückkehrmigration, eingeschränkte Befragung von Rückkehrmigranten), Sonstiges (Rücküberweisungen an die Heimatländer, Lebenszufriedenheit, Risikoneigung, soziale Integration und Anerkennung).

Genauere Informationen zum Befragungsdatensatz entnehmen Sie bitte der Kurzbeschreibung.

Unterschiede zwischen den Versionen

Die  IAB-SOEP Migrationsstichprobe liegt in zwei verschiedenen Versionen vor:

  • IAB-SOEP-Migrationsstichprobe: Befragungsdaten (IAB-SOEP-MIG-Befragungsdaten)
  • IAB-SOEP Migrationsstichprobe verknüpft mit administrativen Daten des IAB (IAB-SOEP-MIG-ADIAB)

Die IAB-SOEP-MIG-Befragungsdaten enthalten alle in der Befragung erhobenen Informationen für die Wellen 1 bis 3 (2013 bis 2015).

Mit der IAB-SOEP-MIG-ADIAB können für einen Teil der Befragten der IAB-SOEP Migrationsstichprobe die Befragungsdaten gemeinsam mit den für sie verfügbaren administrativen Daten analysiert werden. Seitens der administrativen Daten bietet der Datensatz sowohl individuelle Merkmale als auch Informationen zu den Beschäftigungsbetrieben und deckt den Zeitraum von 1975-2014 ab. Er beinhaltet also auch Episoden, die vor oder nach dem eigentlichen Interview fortgesetzt oder begonnen wurden.

Die IAB-SOEP-MIG-Befragungsdaten werden den beantragenden Forschungseinrichtungen als Scientific Use File (SUF) zum Download zur Verfügung gestellt. Sie sind auch in den SOEP-Daten enthalten, die vom FDZ des SOEP bezogen werden können. Die IAB-SOEP-MIG-ADIAB kann nur im Rahmen von Gastaufenthalten inklusive Datenfernverarbeitung genutzt werden.

IAB-SOEP-MIG-Befragungsdaten: Datensatzbeschreibung und Fragebögen

Datensatzbeschreibungen
Fragebögen

Fragebögen auf Deutsch und Englisch sowie als Übersetzungshilfen auf Polnisch, Türkisch, Rumänisch und Russisch.

Weitere Informationen und Arbeitshilfen zur IAB-SOEP-Migrationsstichprobe auf der Seite des SOEP am DIW Berlin.

IAB-SOEP-MIG-ADIAB: Datensatzbeschreibungen und Auszählungen

 FDZ-Datenreport   

 Auszählungen und Labels   

 FDZ-Datenreport 11/2016 (de)
 
 Auszählungen und Labels (de)
 Frequencies and labels (en)

Datenzugang

Je nach Version stehen unterschiedliche Datenzugangswege zur Verfügung:

IAB-SOEP-MIG-Befragungsdaten
IAB-SOEP-MIG-ADIAB

Testdaten für die IAB-SOEP-MIG-ADIAB

Um fehlerfreie Programme für die Datenfernverarbeitung und zur Vorbereitung von Gastaufenthalten schreiben zu können, stehen den Nutzerinnen und Nutzern in der Regel Testdaten zur Verfügung. Für IAB-SOEP-Migrationsstichprobe stehen aktuell leider noch keine Testdaten bereit.
Den Nutzerinnen und Nutzern wird daher empfohlen, das Scientific Use File der IAB-SOEP-Migrationsstichprobe zu beantragen, um die Analysen der Befragungsdaten vorbereiten zu können. Weitere Informationen zur Beantragung eines SUF.
Zur Vorbereitung der Analysen mit den administrativen Daten empfehlen wir die Testdaten für die Stichprobe der Integrierten Arbeitsmarktbiografien zu verwenden. Diese basieren zwar auf einer anderen Stichprobe, enthalten jedoch die gleichen Merkmale.

nach oben

 

Infobereich.

Abspann.