Institut für Arbeitsmarkt- und Berufsforschung

Navigation zu den wichtigsten Bereichen.

Inhaltsbereich: Institut für Arbeitsmarkt- und Berufsforschung

Inventor biography data linked to administrative data of the IAB (INV-BIO ADIAB)

DOI: 10.5164/IAB.INV-BIO-ADIAB8014.de.en.v1

Summary

In the knowledge economy, the production of knowledge and innovation play a key role for economic growth, development and technological progress. Empirical research on the knowledge economy traditionally exploits patent register data to study socio economic processes and the behavior of the actors that are involved in the innovation process. However, information in patent registers on the key individuals whose ideas, (vocational) training and behavior in the context of their firms and regional labor markets actually lead to successful inventions is limited.

The linked inventor biography data (INV-BIO ADIAB 8014*) of the Institute for Employment Research and the Max Planck Institute for Innovation and Competition address this research and data gap by exploiting the synergies between patent data and labor market biography data that are used in labor studies.

Linked at the person level, the INV-BIO ADIAB data comprise about 150,000 inventors in Germany with daily information on their employment careers drawn from IAB data sources and detailed patent track records for inventions registered at the European Patent Office or the German Patent and Trademark Office, respectively. All inventors recorded in the INV-BIO ADIAB data filed at least one patent with the European Patent Office between 1999 and 2011 and were identified in the administrative labor market data of the IAB as employees and disambiguated using a combination of record linkage and machine learning methods.

The INV-BIO ADIAB data enable novel empirical research on the inventive activities of individuals in the German labor market and immediate economic environment in which inventions occur.

*The generation of this data set was financially supported by the DFG (project no. 329144242).

Dataset Descriptions and Frequencies

Detailed information on INV-BIO ADIAB 8014 is provided by FDZ-Datenreport 03/2018.

German
English

Data Access

  • On-site use and subsequent remote data access. Further information on applying for on-site use.

Other Working Tools

Further working tools such as a list of BHP variables, the standards for the citation of data and data documentation and papers on working with the FDZ data can be found here.

The FDZ recommends using the testdata provided as supplement to the Sample of the Integrated Labor Market Biographies (SIAB) to prepare statistical code. You can download the testdata here.

Citation

Researchers working with the INV-BIO ADIAB 8014 are obligated to acknowledge the data base and its documentation within their publications, including the DOI, by using the following reference:

Data:

This study is based on the linked inventor biography data (INV-BIO ADIAB 8014), DOI: 10.5164/IAB.INV-BIO-ADIAB8014.de.en.v1. These data were accessed on-site at the Research Data Centre (FDZ) of the German Federal Employment Agency at the Institute for Employment Research and/or via (subsequent) remote data access.

Data documentation:
  • Dorner, Matthias; Harhoff, Dietmar; Gäßler, Fabian; Hoisl, Karin; Poege, Felix; (2019): Linked Inventor Biography Data 1980-2014 (INV-BIO-ADIAB 8014). FDZ Datenreport 03/2018, Nuremberg. DOI: 10.5164/IAB.FDZD.1803.en.v1

According to the FDZ Data Usage Agreement, any type of publication resulting from work with FDZ data must be reported to the FDZ by e-mail to iab.fdz@iab.de at the latest one month after publication. The notification must include an electronic version of the printed version or, after publication, a reprint or a copy of the publication free of charge.

 

Infobereich.

Abspann.

Institut für Arbeitsmarkt- und Berufsforschung

Navigation zu den wichtigsten Bereichen.

Inhaltsbereich: Institut für Arbeitsmarkt- und Berufsforschung

Erfinderbiografiedaten verknüpft mit administrativen Daten des IAB (INV-BIO ADIAB)

DOI: 10.5164/IAB.INV-BIO-ADIAB8014.de.en.v1

Kurzbeschreibung

In der Wissensökonomie spielt die Produktion von Wissen und Innovationen eine zentrale Rolle für Wachstum, Entwicklung und technischen Fortschritt. Die empirische Forschung zur Wissensökonomie nutzt seit vielen Jahren erfolgreich Patentdaten um die sozioökonomischen Prozesse und Verhaltensweisen der am Innovationsprozess beteiligten Akteure zu erforschen. Zu den Individuen, deren Ideen, (berufliche) Ausbildung und Verhalten im Zusammenspiel mit betrieblichen oder regionalen Faktoren letztendlich zu Erfindungen führen, ist der Informationsgehalt von Patentdaten jedoch nur gering. 

Die verknüpften Erfinderbiografiedaten (INV-BIO ADIAB 8014*) des Instituts für Arbeitsmarkt- und Berufsforschung sowie des Max-Planck-Instituts für Innovation und Wettbewerb setzen an dieser Forschungs- und Datenlücke an indem Synergien zwischen Patent- und in der Arbeitsmarktforschung verwendeten Erwebsbiografiedaten genutzt werden.

Verknüpft auf der Personenebene enthalten die INV-BIO ADIAB Daten zu mehr als 150.000 Erfindern in Deutschland tagesgenaue Informationen zu Erwerbskarrieren aus IAB Datenbeständen, sowie eine Historie von Patenten, die am Europäischen Patentamt bzw. Deutschen Patent- und Markenamt registriert wurden. Alle in den Daten enthaltenen Erfinder haben mindestens ein Patent beim Europäischen Patentamt in den Jahren 1999 bis 2011 angemeldet und wurden als Beschäftigte in den administrativen Arbeitsmarktdaten des IAB identifiziert und disambiguiert mit einer Kombination aus Record Linkage und Machine Learning Methoden.

Mit den INV-BIO ADIAB Daten lassen sich erfinderische Aktivitäten im deutschen Arbeitsmarkt auf der Ebene einzelner Erfinder sowie in deren unmittelbaren Erwerbskontext umfassend analysieren.

*Die Erstellung der Forschungsdaten wurde von der DFG (Projektnr. 329144242) gefördert.

Datensatzbeschreibungen und Auszählungen

Detaillierte Informationen zu INV-BIO ADIAB 8014 enthält FDZ-Datenreport 03/2018.

Deutsch
Englisch

Datenzugang

Weitere Arbeitshilfen

Weitere Arbeitshilfen wie eine Liste der BHP-Merkmale, die Vorgaben zum Zitieren der Daten und Datendokumentation, sowie Publikationen zur Arbeit mit den FDZ-Daten finden Sie hier.

Es wird empfohlen die Testdaten zur Stichprobe der Integrierten Arbeitsmarktbiografien (SIAB) für die Vorbereitung der Analysen zu verwenden. Sie können die Testdaten direkt hier downloaden.

Zitation

Forschende, die mit dem INV-BIO ADIAB 8014 arbeiten, sind verpflichtet, in ihren Publikationen die Datenbasis und Datendokumentation inklusive DOI durch folgenden Hinweis anzuzeigen:

Daten:

Die Datengrundlage dieses Beitrags bilden die verknüpften Erfinderbiogafiedaten (INV-BIO ADIAB 8014), DOI: IAB.INV-BIO-ADIAB8014.de.en.v1. Der Datenzugang erfolgte über Gastaufenthalte am Forschungsdatenzentrum der Bundesagentur für Arbeit im Institut für Arbeitsmarkt- und Berufsforschung (FDZ) und/oder mittels kontrollierter Datenfernverarbeitung.

Datendokumentation:
  • Dorner, Matthias; Harhoff, Dietmar; Gäßler, Fabian; Hoisl, Karin; Poege, Felix; (2019): Linked Inventor Biography Data 1980-2014 (INV-BIO-ADIAB 8014). FDZ Datenreport 03/2018, Nürnberg. DOI: 10.5164/IAB.FDZD.1803.en.v1

Gemäß FDZ-Datennutzungsvertrag ist jede Art von Publikation, die aus der Arbeit mit FDZ-Daten hervorgeht, dem FDZ spätestens einen Monat nach dem Veröffentlichen per E-Mail an iab.fdz@iab.de anzuzeigen. Im Rahmen der Meldung ist eine elektronische Version der Druckfassung bzw. nach der Veröffentlichung ein Sonderdruck oder eine Kopie der Publikation kosten- und entgeltfrei zu übermitteln.

 

Infobereich.

Abspann.