Institut für Arbeitsmarkt- und Berufsforschung

Navigation zu den wichtigsten Bereichen.

Inhaltsbereich: Institut für Arbeitsmarkt- und Berufsforschung

PASS survey data linked to administrative data of the IAB (PASS-ADIAB)  – Version 7518 v1

DOI: 10.5164/IAB.PASS-ADIAB7518.de.en.v1

Summary

The Panel Labour Market and Social Security (PASS) is a central dataset for research on the labour market, poverty and means-tested income support in Germany (German Social Code Book II). Established by the IAB in 2007, annual surveys are conducted in households in receipt of Unemployment Benefit II and households registered as residents of Germany. Initially, a personal interview is carried out with the heads of all selected households. Subsequently, all members of the household aged 15 or over are interviewed.
The Panel Study Labour Market and Social Security allows to analyse the dynamic of the receipt of Unemployment Benefit II as well as the effects of receipt of social benefits on the economic and social situation of the affected households and individuals. Furthermore, PASS also offers information beyond its central issues of employment and unemployment, comprising a variety of socio-demographic characteristics and subjective indicators such as contentment, fears and problems or employment orientation
.

Dataset Descriptions, Questionnaires and Frequencies

A detailed descriptions for each wave are included in the respective FDZ Datenreports. Information on the survey design is available in the FDZ Methodenreports.

German
English

Data Acces

Test Data

Usually test data are available in order to allow for the preparation of programs to facilitate remote data access as well as on-site use. But there are currently no test data available for PASS-ADIAB. We recommend users to apply for the scientific use file PASS in order to prepare the analysis of the survey data. Further information on requesting a SUF.

Furthermore we recommend users to make use of the test data for the Sample of Integrated Labour Market Biographies (SIAB) in order to prepare the analysis of the administrative data. Although these data are based on a different sample, they contain the same variables. To the SIAB test data.

Other working tools  

Further working tools as a list of BHP variables, the standards for the citation of data and data documentation and papers on working with the FDZ data can be found here.

Citation

Researchers working with the PASS-ADIAB version 7518 are obligated to acknowledge the data base and its documentation within their publications, including the DOI, by using the following reference:

Data:

This study uses the PASS survey data linked to administrative data of the IAB, Version PASS-ADIAB 1975 - 2018. Data access was provided via on-site use at the Research Data Centre (FDZ) of the German Federal Employment Agency (BA) at the Institute for Employment Research (IAB) and subsequently remote data access.

Data documentation:

Dummert, Sandra; Zimmermann, Florian (2020): PASS-Befragungsdaten verknüpft mit administrativen Daten des IAB. Datensatz Version: PASS-ADIAB 7518. FDZ-Datenreport, 09/2020. Nürnberg. DOI: 10.5164/IAB.FDZD.2009.de.v1

According to the FDZ Data Usage Agreement, any type of publication resulting from work with FDZ data must be reported to the FDZ by e-mail to iab.fdz@iab.de at the latest one month after publication. The notification must include an electronic version of the printed version or, after publication, a reprint or a copy of the publication free of charge.

Data Versions

>> Further information on other versions of the BHP dataset

Back to top

 

Infobereich.

Error correction

An error has been detected in the labels for the variable 'estatvor' (employment status prior to job search). Please read the following info sheet to learn more and find guidelines to correct the error.
(10/19/2020)

Abspann.

Institut für Arbeitsmarkt- und Berufsforschung

Navigation zu den wichtigsten Bereichen.

Inhaltsbereich: Institut für Arbeitsmarkt- und Berufsforschung

PASS-Befragungsdaten verknüpft mit den administrativen Daten des IAB (PASS-ADIAB)  – Version 7518 v1

DOI: 10.5164/IAB.PASS-ADIAB7518.de.en.v1

Kurzbeschreibung

Mit dem Panel Arbeitsmarkt und soziale Sicherung (PASS) baut das IAB seit 2007 einen zentralen Datensatz für die Arbeitsmarkt-, Armuts- und SGB-II-Forschung in Deutschland auf. Befragt werden in jährlichem Rhythmus zum einen Haushalte, die Transferleistungen beziehen und zum anderen Haushalte der allgemeinen Wohnbevölkerung. In jedem dieser Haushalte wird zunächst mit einer Person ein Haushaltsinterview und anschließend mit jeder Person ab 15 Jahren ein Personeninterview geführt.
Mit Hilfe des PASS können zentrale Forschungsfragen, wie beispielsweise die Dynamik des Bezugs von Arbeitslosengeld II sowie die Auswirkungen des Transferleistungsbezugs auf die wirtschaftliche und soziale Lage der betroffenen Haushalte und Personen untersucht werden. Aber auch über den Kernbereich Beschäftigung und Arbeitslosigkeit hinaus bietet das PASS ein breites Fragenspektrum, das z.B. auch zahlreiche soziodemographische Merkmale oder subjektive Indikatoren (wie Zufriedenheit, Ängste und Sorgen, Erwerbsorientierung) beinhaltet.

Datensatzbeschreibungen, Fragebögen und Auszählungen

Detaillierte Informationen über die einzelnen Wellen des Datensatzes befinden sich in den jeweiligen FDZ-Datenreporten. Informationen zu den Erhebungen finden Sie in den jeweiligen FDZ-Methodenreporten.

Deutsch
Englisch

Datenzugang

Testdaten

Um fehlerfreie Programme für die Datenfernverarbeitung und zur Vorbereitung von Gastaufenthalten schreiben zu können, stehen den Nutzerinnen und Nutzern in der Regel Testdaten zur Verfügung. Für PASS-ADIAB stehen aktuell leider noch keine Testdaten bereit. Den Nutzerinnen und Nutzern wird daher empfohlen, das Scientific Use File PASS zu beantragen, um die Analysen der Befragungsdaten vorbereiten zu können. Weitere Informationen zur Beantragung eines SUF.

Zur Vorbereitung der Analysen mit den administrativen Daten empfehlen wir die Testdaten für die Stichprobe der Integrierten Arbeitsmarktbiografien (SIAB) zu verwenden. Diese basieren zwar auf einer anderen Stichprobe, enthalten jedoch die gleichen Merkmale. Zu den SIAB-Testdaten.

Weitere Arbeitshilfen  

Weitere Arbeitshilfen wie eine Liste der BHP-Merkmale, die Vorgaben zum Zitieren der Daten und Datendokumentation, sowie Publikationen zur Arbeit mit den FDZ-Daten finden Sie hier.

Zitation

Forschende, die mit dem PASS-ADIAB Version 7518 arbeiten, sind verpflichtet, in ihren Publikationen die Datenbasis und Datendokumentation inklusive DOI durch folgenden Hinweis anzuzeigen:

Daten:

Die Datengrundlage dieses Beitrags bilden die faktisch anonymisierten PASS-Befragungsdaten verknüpft mit administrativen Daten des IAB (PASS-ADIAB, Version 7518). Der Datenzugang erfolgte über einen Gastaufenthalt am Forschungsdatenzentrum der Bundesagentur für Arbeit im Institut für Arbeitsmarkt- und Berufsforschung (FDZ) und anschließend mittels kontrollierter Datenfernverarbeitung beim FDZ. DOI: 10.5164/IAB.PASS-ADIAB7518.de.en.v1

Datendokumentation:

Dummert, Sandra; Zimmermann, Florian (2020): PASS-Befragungsdaten verknüpft mit administrativen Daten des IAB. Datensatz Version: PASS-ADIAB 7518. FDZ-Datenreport, 09/2020. Nürnberg. DOI: 10.5164/IAB.FDZD.2009.de.v1

Gemäß FDZ-Datennutzungsvertrag ist jede Art von Publikation, die aus der Arbeit mit FDZ-Daten hervorgeht, dem FDZ spätestens einen Monat nach dem Veröffentlichen per E-Mail an iab.fdz@iab.de anzuzeigen. Im Rahmen der Meldung ist eine elektronische Version der Druckfassung bzw. nach der Veröffentlichung ein Sonderdruck oder eine Kopie der Publikation kosten- und entgeltfrei zu übermitteln.

Datenversionen

>> Weitere Informationen zu anderen PASS-Versionen

nach oben

 

Infobereich.

Fehlerkorrektur

Es wurde ein Fehler in den Labels der Variable „estatvor“ (Beschäftigungsstatus vor Arbeitssuche) entdeckt. Weitere Informationen und Hinweise zur Korrektur des Fehlers finden Sie auf folgendem Infoblatt.
(19.10.2020)

Abspann.