Institut für Arbeitsmarkt- und Berufsforschung

Navigation zu den wichtigsten Bereichen.

Inhaltsbereich: Institut für Arbeitsmarkt- und Berufsforschung

Panel Study Labour Market and Social Security (PASS) – Version 0619 v1

DOI: 10.5164/IAB.PASS-SUF0619.de.en.v1

Summary

The Panel Labour Market and Social Security (PASS) is a central dataset for research on the labour market, poverty and means-tested income support in Germany (German Social Code Book II). Established by the IAB in 2007, annual surveys are conducted in households in receipt of Unemployment Benefit II and households registered as residents of Germany. Initially, a personal interview is carried out with the heads of all selected households. Subsequently, all members of the household aged 15 or over are interviewed.

The Panel Study Labour Market and Social Security allows to analyse the dynamic of the receipt of Unemployment Benefit II as well as the effects of receipt of social benefits on the economic and social situation of the affected households and individuals. Furthermore, PASS also offers information beyond its central issues of employment and unemployment, comprising a variety of socio-demographic characteristics and subjective indicators such as contentment, fears and problems or employment orientation.

Dataset Descriptions, Questionnaires and Frequencies

A detailed descriptions for each wave are included in the respective FDZ Datenreports. Information on the survey design is available in the FDZ Methodenreports.

German
English

Data access

The Panel Study Labour Market and Social Security version 0619 v1 is only available for replication studies via the following way of access:

  • Scientific Use File (SUF)

Please contact the FDZ by e-mail if required: iab.fdz@iab.de

Other working tools  

Further working tools as a list of BHP variables and papers on working with the FDZ data can be found here.

Citation

Researchers working with the PASS 0619 are obligated to acknowledge the data base and its documentation within their publications, including the DOI, by using the following reference:

Data:

Sebastian Bähr, Jonas Beste, Mustafa Coban, Sandra Dummert, Martin Friedrich, Corinna Frodermann, Stefanie Gundert, Bettina Müller, Stefan Schwarz, Nils Teichler, Mark Trappmann, Stefanie Unger, Claudia Wenzig, Marco Berg, Ralph Cramer, Christian Dickmann, Reiner Gilberg, Birgit Jesske, Martin Kleudgen (2020): "Panel Study Labour Market and Social Security (PASS) – Version 0619 v1". Research Data Centre of the Federal Employment Agency (BA) at the Institute for Employment Research (IAB). DOI: 10.5164/IAB.PASS-SUF0619.de.en.v1
Data access was provided via a Scientific Use File supplied by the Research Data Centre (FDZ) of the German Federal Employment Agency (BA) at the Institute for Employment Research (IAB).

Data documentation:

Marco Berg et al. (2020): Codebuch und Dokumentation des Panel 'Arbeitsmarkt und soziale Sicherung' (PASS) – Datenreport Welle 13. FDZ-Datenreport, 12/2020 (de), Nürnberg. DOI: 10.5164/IAB.FDZD.2012.de.v1

According to the FDZ Data Usage Agreement, any type of publication resulting from work with FDZ data must be reported to the FDZ by e-mail to iab.fdz@iab.de at the latest one month after publication. The notification must include an electronic version of the printed version or, after publication, a reprint or a copy of the publication free of charge.

Data Versions

>> Further information on other versions of the PASS dataset.

 

Infobereich.

Corrected version of PASS available

Quality control for the panel "Labour Market and Social Security" (PASS) has confirmed suspicions that two interviewers deviated considerably from the standardised interview procedure. After extensive reviews, we have decided to remove all interviews of these two interviewers from wave 13. In addition, all interviews in waves 7-12 conducted by the interviewers in question were also removed retroactively to ensure data quality. In wave 13, 152 personal and 91 household interviews are affected by these deletions. Including previous waves, a total of 390 household interviews (from 157 households) and 640 person interviews (from 263 persons) were deleted.

Starting immediately, the Research Data Centre provides a corrected version (v3) for all users with a valid contract of wave 1-13 via the data exchange server. 

>> Further information

Error Correction unemployment spells in PASS wave 13

At the plausibility check as part of the data processing in wave 13, there were errors in 45 unemployment spells (ALO spells) in wave 13 of the PASS Scientific Use Files. In the biographical information (bio_spells) falsely 39 ALO spells were not included and 6 ALO spells from previous waves were not updated. This error also affects the variables PET1000, alakt, alg1abez, PET0920, aktgefbesch, etakt and statakt in the personal dataset (PENDDAT). Starting immediately, the Research Data Centre makes to users with a valid contract of wave 1-13 a corrected version available.

Abspann.

Institut für Arbeitsmarkt- und Berufsforschung

Navigation zu den wichtigsten Bereichen.

Inhaltsbereich: Institut für Arbeitsmarkt- und Berufsforschung

Panel Arbeitsmarkt und soziale Sicherung (PASS) – Version 0619 v1

DOI: 10.5164/IAB.PASS-SUF0619.de.en.v1

Kurzbeschreibung

Mit dem Panel Arbeitsmarkt und soziale Sicherung (PASS) baut das IAB seit 2007 einen zentralen Datensatz für die Arbeitsmarkt-, Armuts- und SGB-II-Forschung in Deutschland auf. Befragt werden in jährlichem Rhythmus zum einen Haushalte, die Transferleistungen beziehen und zum anderen Haushalte der allgemeinen Wohnbevölkerung. In jedem dieser Haushalte wird zunächst mit einer Person ein Haushaltsinterview und anschließend mit jeder Person ab 15 Jahren ein Personeninterview geführt.

Mit Hilfe des PASS können zentrale Forschungsfragen, wie beispielsweise die Dynamik des Bezugs von Arbeitslosengeld II sowie die Auswirkungen des Transferleistungsbezugs auf die wirtschaftliche und soziale Lage der betroffenen Haushalte und Personen untersucht werden. Aber auch über den Kernbereich Beschäftigung und Arbeitslosigkeit hinaus bietet das PASS ein breites Fragenspektrum, das z.B. auch zahlreiche soziodemographische Merkmale oder subjektive Indikatoren (wie Zufriedenheit, Ängste und Sorgen, Erwerbsorientierung) beinhaltet.

Datensatzbeschreibungen, Fragebögen und Auszählungen

Detaillierte Informationen über die einzelnen Wellen des Datensatzes befinden sich in den jeweiligen FDZ-Datenreporten. Informationen zu den Erhebungen finden Sie in den jeweiligen FDZ-Methodenreporten.

Deutsch
Englisch

Datenzugang

Weitere Arbeitshilfen  

Weitere Arbeitshilfen wie eine Liste der BHP-Merkmale sowie Publikationen zur Arbeit mit den FDZ-Daten finden Sie hier.

Zitation

Forschende, die mit dem PASS arbeiten, sind verpflichtet, in ihren Publikationen die Datenbasis und Datendokumentation inklusive DOI durch folgenden Hinweis anzuzeigen:

Daten:

Bähr, Sebastian; Beste, Jonas; Coban, Mustafa; Dummert, Sandra; Friedrich, Martin; Frodermann, Corinna; Gundert, Stefanie; Müller, Bettina; Schwarz, Stefan; Teichler, Nils; Trappmann, Mark; Unger, Stefanie; Wenzig, Claudia (2020): "Panel Arbeitsmarkt und soziale Sicherung (PASS) – Version 0619 v1". Forschungsdatenzentrum der Bundesagentur für Arbeit (BA) im Institut für Arbeitsmarkt- und Berufsforschung (IAB). DOI: 10.5164/IAB.PASS-SUF0619.de.en.v1
Der Datenzugang erfolgte über ein Scientific Use File, das über das Forschungsdatenzentrum der Bundesagentur für Arbeit im Institut für Arbeitsmarkt- und Berufsforschung zur Verfügung gestellt wurde.

Datendokumentation:

Marco Berg et al. (2020): Codebuch und Dokumentation des Panel "Arbeitsmarkt und soziale Sicherung" (PASS) – Datenreport Welle 13. FDZ-Datenreport, 12/2020 (de), Nürnberg. DOI: 10.5164/IAB.FDZD.2012.de.v1

Gemäß FDZ-Datennutzungsvertrag ist jede Art von Publikation, die aus der Arbeit mit FDZ-Daten hervorgeht, dem FDZ spätestens einen Monat nach dem Veröffentlichen per E-Mail an iab.fdz@iab.de anzuzeigen. Im Rahmen der Meldung ist eine elektronische Version der Druckfassung bzw. nach der Veröffentlichung ein Sonderdruck oder eine Kopie der Publikation kosten- und entgeltfrei zu übermitteln.

Datenversionen

>> Weitere Informationen zu anderen PASS-Versionen.

 

Infobereich.

Korrigierte Version von PASS verfügbar

Im Zuge der Qualitätskontrollen der Interviewer*innen des Panels „Arbeitsmarkt und soziale Sicherung“ (PASS) hat sich ein Verdacht erhärtet, dass zwei Interviewer*innen bei den Befragungen erheblich vom standardisierten Verfahren abgewichen sind. Nach umfangreichen Überprüfungen haben wir uns entschieden, alle Interviews dieser beiden Interviewer*innen aus Welle 13 zu entfernen. Zudem wurden sicherheitshalber auch rückwirkend Interviews der betroffenen Interviewer*innen bis Welle 7 entfernt. Betroffen sind von diesen Löschungen 152 Personen- und 91 Haushaltsinterviews in Welle 13. Inklusive vorhergehender Wellen wurden insgesamt 390 Haushaltsinterviews (von 157 Haushalten) und 640 Personeninterviews (von 263 Personen) gelöscht.

Das Forschungsdatenzentrum stellt ab sofort auf dem Datenaustauschserver für Nutzende mit einem Vertrag für die Wellen 1-13 eine korrigierte Version (v3) zur Verfügung.

>> Weitere Informationen

Fehlerkorrektur in den Arbeitslosigkeits-Spells in PASS Welle 13

Bei der Plausibilitätsprüfung im Rahmen der Datenaufbereitung in Welle 13 kam es zu Fehlern in 45 Arbeitslosigkeits-Spells (ALO-Spells) in Welle 13 des PASS Scientific Use Files. Hierbei wurden im BIO-Spelldatensatz (bio_spells) fälschlicherweise 39 ALO-Spells nicht aufgenommen und 6 weitere ALO-Spells aus den Vorwellen nicht fortgeschrieben. Dieser Fehler wirkt sich zudem im Personenenddatensatz (PENDDAT) auf die Variablen PET1000, alakt, alg1abez, PET0920, aktgefbesch, etakt und statakt aus. Das Forschungsdatenzentrum stellt ab sofort auf dem Datenaustauschserver für Nutzende mit einem Vertrag für die Wellen 1-13 eine korrigierte Version zur Verfügung.

Abspann.