Institut für Arbeitsmarkt- und Berufsforschung

Navigation zu den wichtigsten Bereichen.

Inhaltsbereich: Institut für Arbeitsmarkt- und Berufsforschung

Linked-Employer-Employee-Data of the IAB (LIAB): LIAB cross-sectional model 2 1993-2017, version 1

DOI: 10.5164/IAB.LIABQM29317.de.en.v1

Summary

The Linked-Employer-Employee-Data of the IAB (LIAB) combine interviews from the IAB Establishment Panel with the related establishment and individual data generated in labour administration and social security data processing. The latter cover administrative establishment information from the Establishment History Panel (BHP) and the employment biographies of individuals employed by the interviewed establishments. The LIAB data allow for simultaneous analysis of the supply and demand side of the German labour market.

Dataset Descriptions and Frequencies

German
English

Data Access

The Linked Employer-Employee Datasets are available via the following way of access:

  • On-site Use included Remote Data Access. Further information on Applying for on-site use. With your application to LIAB we provide automatically the IAB Establishment Panel, the administrative individual data and the basic module of the BHP. Further modules of BHP have to be requested explicitly in your application.

Test Data

Test data help to prepare programs ahead of on-site and remote data access. They are freely accessible over the web and therefore have to be anonymised. They shall reflect the structure of the original data as close as possible to be useful for many kinds of different analyses. As there are no universally useful test data we suggest that you adjust the test data for your purposes, e.g. if Spanish employees are in the focus of your investigation, just recode enough nationalities to Spanish.

TEST DATA ARE RANDOM AND THEREFORE NOT ELIGIBLE FOR ANALYSIS!

Note: The test data for the IAB Establishment Panel are stored separately. It is possible to merge these test data with the test data for the respective LIAB model.

Other Working Tools

  • We provide person and establishment fixed effects (AKM effects) for this data set. To access the effects in an existing project please write an email to iab.fdz@iab.de. You find further Information here.
  • An English outline can be found in Schmollers Jahrbuch, 134 (2014), S. 141–148.
  • The establishment part of the LIAB data is the IAB Establishment Panel - see Working tools for the IAB Establishment Panel
  • A recommendable Introduction is given by FDZ Methodenreport 01/2008: Das IAB-Betriebspanel – von der Stichprobe über die Erhebung bis zur Hochrechnung [The IAB Establishment Panel - Sample, Survey and Weighting]
    Here you will find a detailed description of  the IAB Establishment Panel including information on the establishment number and the linkage quality.

Further working tools as the overview on classifications of economic activities, a list of upper earnings limits and marginal part-time income thresholds, the standards for the citation of data and data documentation and papers on working with the FDZ data can be found here.

Citation

Researchers working with the LIAB are obligated to acknowledge the data base and its documentation within their publications, including the DOI, by using the following reference:

Data:

This study uses the LIAB cross-sectional model 2, version 1993-2017, of the Linked-Employer-Employee Data (LIAB) from the IAB. Data access was provided via on-site use at the Research Data Centre (FDZ) of the German Federal Employment Agency (BA) at the Institute for Employment Research (IAB) and subsequently remote data access. DOI: 10.5164/IAB.LIABQM29317.de.en.v1

Data documentation:
  • Schmidtlein, Lisa; Seth, Stefan; Umkehrer, Matthias (2019): Linked-Employer-Employee-Daten des IAB: LIAB Querschnittmodell 2 (LIAB QM2) 1993–2017. FDZ-Datenreport, 06/2019 (de), Nürnberg. DOI: 10.5164/IAB.FDZD.1906.de.v1
  • Schmidtlein, Lisa; Seth, Stefan; Umkehrer, Matthias (2019): Linked Employer-Employee Data from the IAB: LIAB Cross-Sectional Model 2 (LIAB QM2) 1993–2017. FDZ-Datenreport, 06/2019 (en), Nuremberg. DOI: 10.5164/IAB.FDZD.1906.en.v1

According to the FDZ Data Usage Agreement, any type of publication resulting from work with FDZ data must be reported to the FDZ by e-mail to iab.fdz@iab.de at the latest one month after publication. The notification must include an electronic version of the printed version or, after publication, a reprint or a copy of the publication free of charge.

Data Versions

>> Further information on other versions of the LIAB datasets.

 

Infobereich.

Abspann.

Institut für Arbeitsmarkt- und Berufsforschung

Navigation zu den wichtigsten Bereichen.

Inhaltsbereich: Institut für Arbeitsmarkt- und Berufsforschung

Linked-Employer-Employee-Daten des IAB (LIAB): LIAB-Querschnittmodell 2 1993-2017, Version 1

DOI: 10.5164/IAB.LIABQM29317.de.en.v1

Kurzbeschreibung

Die Linked-Employer-Employee-Daten des IAB (LIAB) kombinieren die Interviews des IAB-Betriebspanels mit den zugehörigen Betriebs- und Personendaten aus den Prozessen der Bundesagentur für Arbeit. Letztere umfassen einerseits die administrativen Betriebsinformationen aus dem Betriebs-Historik-Panel (BHP) und andererseits die Erwerbsbiographien der in den interviewten Betrieben beschäftigten Personen. Die LIAB Daten ermöglichen somit eine simultane Analyse der Angebots- und Nachfrageseite des Arbeitsmarktes.

Datensatzbeschreibungen und Auszählungen

Deutsch
Englisch

Datenzugang

Die Linked-Employer-Employee-Daten stehen den Forscherinnen und Forschern über folgenden Datenzugangsweg zur Verfügung:

  • Gastaufenthalt inklusive Datenfernverarbeitung. Weitere Informationen zur Beantragung eines Gastaufenthalts. Bei der Beantragung des LIAB werden immer das IAB-Betriebspanel, die administrativen Personendaten und das Basismodul des BHP zur Verfügung gestellt. Alle weiteren Module aus dem BHP müssen extra beantragt werden.

Testdaten

Testdaten dienen der Vorbereitung von Auswertungsprogrammen im Vorfeld der Datenfernverarbeitung und von Gastaufenthalten. Sie sind allgemein zugänglich und müssen daher absolut anonymisiert sein. Sie sollen aber die Datenstruktur möglichst genau wiedergeben, damit Auswertungsprogramme für möglichst viele unterschiedliche Auswertungen getestet werden können. Universal einsetzbare Testdaten sind bei beschränkter Dateigröße jedoch nicht zu erstellen. Daher empfehlen wir die Testdaten für die eigenen Zwecke anzupassen: sollen z.B. die Spanier untersucht werden, sollte man zuvor hinreichend viele Staatsangehörigkeiten auf Spanien umsetzen.

MIT DEN LIAB-TESTDATEN SIND KEINE INHALTLICHEN AUSWERTUNGEN MÖGLICH!

Hinweis: Die Testdaten für das IAB-Betriebspanel sind separat abgelegt. Diese Testdaten können an die Testdaten für das jeweilige LIAB-Modell gespielt werden.

Weitere Arbeitshilfen

  • Für diesen Datensatz stehen personen- und betriebsfixe Effekte (AKM-Effekte) zur Verfügung. Diese können für bestehende Projekte formlos per E-Mail an iab.fdz@iab.de beantragt werden. Weitere Informationen finden Sie hier
  • Eine kurze Beschreibung aus dem Jahr 2014 finden Sie in Schmollers Jahrbuch Bd. 134 (2014), Heft 1: S. 141–148
  • Die Betriebsseite der LIAB-Daten ist das IAB-Betriebspanel - siehe Arbeitshilfen zum IAB-Betriebspanel

  • Einen empfehlenswertern Einstieg bietet:
    FDZ Methodenreport 01/2008: Das IAB-Betriebspanel – von der Stichprobe über die Erhebung bis zur Hochrechnung.
    Hier finden Sie neben einer ausführlichen Beschreibung der Genese des IAB-Betriebspanels auch Erläuterungen zur Betriebsnummer und damit zur Verknüpfungsqualität.

Weitere Arbeitshilfen wie Informationen zu den angebotenen Klassifikationen der Wirtschaftszweige, eine Übersicht der Beitragsbemessungs- und Geringfügigkeitsgrenzen, die Vorgaben zum Zitieren der Daten und Datendokumentation, sowie Publikationen zur Arbeit mit den FDZ-Daten finden Sie hier.

Zitation

Forschende, die mit dem LIAB arbeiten, sind verpflichtet in ihren Publikationen die Datenbasis und Datendokumentation inklusive DOI durch folgenden Hinweis anzuzeigen:

Daten:

Die Datengrundlage dieses Beitrags bildet das LIAB-Querschnittmodell, Version 1993-2017, der Linked Employer-Employee Daten des IAB. Der Datenzugang erfolgte über einen Gastaufenthalt am Forschungsdatenzentrum der Bundesagentur für Arbeit im Institut für Arbeitsmarkt- und Berufsforschung (FDZ) und anschließend mittels kontrollierter Datenfernverarbeitung beim FDZ. DOI:10.5164/IAB.LIABQM29317.de.en.v1

Datendokumentation:
  • Schmidtlein, Lisa; Seth, Stefan; Umkehrer, Matthias (2019): Linked-Employer-Employee-Daten des IAB: LIAB Querschnittmodell 2 (LIAB QM2) 1993–2017. FDZ-Datenreport, 06/2019 (de), Nürnberg. DOI: 10.5164/IAB.FDZD.1906.de.v1
  • Schmidtlein, Lisa; Seth, Stefan; Umkehrer, Matthias (2019): Linked Employer-Employee Data from the IAB: LIAB Cross-Sectional Model 2 (LIAB QM2) 1993–2017. FDZ-Datenreport, 06/2019 (en), Nuremberg. DOI: 10.5164/IAB.FDZD.1906.en.v1

Gemäß FDZ-Datennutzungsvertrag ist jede Art von Publikation, die aus der Arbeit mit FDZ-Daten hervorgeht, dem FDZ spätestens einen Monat nach dem Veröffentlichen per E-Mail an iab.fdz@iab.de anzuzeigen. Im Rahmen der Meldung ist eine elektronische Version der Druckfassung bzw. nach der Veröffentlichung ein Sonderdruck oder eine Kopie der Publikation kosten- und entgeltfrei zu übermitteln.

Datenversionen

>> Weitere Informationen zu anderen LIAB-Versionen.

 

Infobereich.

Abspann.