Institut für Arbeitsmarkt- und Berufsforschung

Navigation zu den wichtigsten Bereichen.

Inhaltsbereich: Institut für Arbeitsmarkt- und Berufsforschung

Linked Personnel Panel (LPP) – Version 1617 v1

DOI: 10.5164/IAB.LPP1617.de.en.v1

Summary

With the LPP, the IAB provides a novel data product for personnel economic research in Germany. The simultaneous observation of employer and employee perspective allows both cross and longitudinal analyses of the relationship between HR management, individual job quality and firm performance. The following central questions can be answered on the basis of the data: Which HR management instruments are used by establishments? Are there differences in the heterogeneity of application, for instance with respect to establishment size classes or sectors? How do HR management strategies develop over time? Is there an impact of certain HR management strategies on firm performance? Is there an impact of certain HR management strategies on employees’ attitudes, satisfaction, health status, commitment etc.? The linkage of the surveys with the IAB Establishment Panel offers further analytic potential.

For detailed information on the IAB Establishment Panel please refer to the Establishment Panel web sites of the department 'Establishments and Employment' as well as to the related FDZ web site.

Dataset Descriptions, Questionnaires and Frequencies

All details on variables are included in the respective FDZ-Datenreports. Information on the survey design is available in the FDZ-Methodenreports. 

German

Version

 FDZ-Datenreport

 Questionnaires

 Frequencies

 FDZ-Methodenreport

LPP, wave 1617

 FDZ Datenreport 04/2018

 Questionnaires 1617
 

 Frequencies 1617
 

 FDZ Methodenreport 11/2018
 FDZ Methodenreport 12/2018

LPP, wave 1415

 FDZ Datenreport 06/2016  Questionnaires 1415  Frequencies 1415  FDZ Methodenreport 02/2016
 FDZ Methodenreport 03/2016

LPP, wave 1213

 FDZ Datenreport 01/2015

 Questionnaires 1213

 Frequencies 1213

 FDZ Methodenreport 03/2015
 FDZ Methodenreport 02/2015

English

Version

 FDZ-Datenreport

 Questionnaires

 Frequencies

 FDZ-Methodenreport

LPP, wave 1617

 FDZ Datenreport 04/2018

 Questionnaires 1617

 Frequencies 1617

 FDZ Methodenreport 05/2015

LPP, wave 1415

 FDZ Datenreport 06/2016  Questionnaires 1415  Frequencies 1415  FDZ Methodenreport 05/2015

LPP, wave 1213

 FDZ Datenreport 01/2015

 Questionnaires 1213

 Frequencies 1213

 FDZ Methodenreport 05/2015

Data Access

LPP is available via the following way of access:

  • On-site Use included Remote Data Access. Further information on Applying for on-site use. With your application to LPP we provide automatically the IAB Establishment Panel.

Test data

Test data help to prepare programs ahead of on-site and remote data access. The test data include all variables of the original data with the same variable name variable label and value label. It is possible to generate a panel over all waves with coherence of characteristics over time. They are freely accessible over the web and therefore have to be anonymised. That means: Test data are random and therefore not eligible for Analysis!

Other Working Tools

  • Measuring the Use of Human Resources Practices and Employee Attitudes: The Linked Personnel Panel
    The paper by Kampkötter et al. (2016) offers a summary of the data.
  • Generation of a Panel:
    We provide Stata programs to generate a Panel.
     
  • FDZ Methodenreport 1/2008: Das IAB-Betriebspanel – von der Stichprobe über die Erhebung bis zur Hochrechnung [The IAB Establishment Panel - Sample, Survey and Weighting]:
    The FDZ Methodenreport 1/2008 discusses methodological aspects of the IAB Establishment Panel. Primarily, it is meant to facilitate first-time analysis of the dataset. Also, the article may be used as a reference for methodological issues related to the IAB Establishment Panel. A brief description can be found in
    Schmollers Jahrbuch 2009.
  • English Labels:
    The LPP is available with English labels. Stata user can get access to the labels by using the command "label language en".

Further working tools as the standards for the citation of data and data documentation and papers on working with the FDZ data can be found here.

Citation

Researchers working with the LPP are obligated to acknowledge the data base and its documentation within their publications, including the DOI, by using the following reference:

Data:

This study uses the Linked Personnel Panel (LPP), wave 1617, DOI: 10.5164/IAB.LPP1617.de.en.v1. Data access was provided via on-site use at the Research Data Centre (FDZ) of the German Federal Employment Agency (BA) at the Institute for Employment Research (IAB) and subsequently remote data access..

Data documentation:
  • Mackeben, Jan; Ruf, Kevin; Grunau, Philipp; Wolter, Stefanie (2018): LPP – Linked Personnel Panel 1617 – Arbeitsqualität und wirtschaftlicher Erfolg: Längsschnittstudie in deutschen Betrieben (Datendokumentation der dritten Welle), FDZ-Datenreport 04/2018 (de), Nürnberg. DOI: 10.5164/IAB.FDZD.1804.de.v1
  • Mackeben, Jan; Ruf, Kevin; Grunau, Philipp; Wolter, Stefanie (2018): LPP – Linked Personnel Panel 1617 – Quality of work and economic success: longitudinal study in German establishments (data documentation on the third wave), FDZ-Datenreport 04/2018 (en), Nürnberg. DOI: 10.5164/IAB.FDZD.1804.en.v1
  • Schütz, Holger; Knerr, Petra; Metselaar, Carolin; Middendorf, Lena (2018): IAB-Beschäftigtenbefragung – Projekt „Arbeitsqualität und wirtschaftlicher Erfolg: Panelstudie zu Entwicklungsverläufen in deutschen Betrieben – Personenbefragung“, – 3. Erhebungswelle. FDZ-Methodenreport 11/2018 (de), Nürnberg. DOI: 10.5164/IAB.FDZM.1811.de.v1
  • Tschersich, Nikolai; Gensicke, Miriam (2018): Vertiefende Betriebsbefragung – „Arbeitsqualität und wirtschaftlicher Erfolg“ – 2016 – Welle 3. FDZ-Methodenreport 12/2018 (de), Nürnberg. DOI: 10.5164/IAB.FDZM.1812.de.v1

According to the FDZ Data Usage Agreement, any type of publication resulting from work with FDZ data must be reported to the FDZ by e-mail to iab.fdz@iab.de at the latest one month after publication. The notification must include an electronic version of the printed version or, after publication, a reprint or a copy of the publication free of charge.

Data Versions

>> Further information on other versions of the LPP dataset.

 

 

Infobereich.

Abspann.

Institut für Arbeitsmarkt- und Berufsforschung

Navigation zu den wichtigsten Bereichen.

Inhaltsbereich: Institut für Arbeitsmarkt- und Berufsforschung

Linked Personnel Panel (LPP) – Version 1617 v1

DOI: 10.5164/IAB.LPP1617.de.en.v1

Kurzbeschreibung

Mit dem LPP bietet das IAB ein neues Datenprodukt für die personalökonomische Forschung in Deutschland an. Die simultane Betrachtung von Arbeitgeber- und Beschäftigtenperspektive ermöglicht sowohl Quer- als auch Längsschnittanalysen von Wirkungszusammenhängen zwischen Personalmanagement, individueller Arbeitsqualität und betrieblichem Erfolg. Zentrale Fragestellungen, die anhand der Daten untersucht werden können, sind unter anderem: Welche Personalmanagementinstrumente nutzen Betriebe? Gibt es Unterschiede in der Heterogenität der Nutzung, beispielsweise hinsichtlich Betriebsgrößenklasse oder Branche? Welche Veränderungen in der Nutzung zeigen sich über die Zeit? Kann man einen Einfluss bestimmter Maßnahmen auf den wirtschaftlichen Erfolg beobachten? Wie wirken bestimmte Instrumente auf Mitarbeitereinstellungen, Motivation, Arbeitszufriedenheit, Gesundheit, Bindung an den Betrieb etc.? Die Verknüpfung der Befragungen mit dem IAB-Betriebspanel eröffnet weitere Analysepotentiale.

Ausführliche Informationen zum IAB-Betriebspanel finden Sie auf der Betriebspanel-Website des Forschungsbereichs "Betriebe und Beschäftigung" sowie auf der zugehörigen FDZ-Website.

Datensatzbeschreibungen, Fragebögen und Auszählungen

Detaillierte Informationen zu den einzelnen Variablen befinden sich in den FDZ-Datenreporten. Informationen zu den Erhebungen finden Sie in den FDZ-Methodenreporten.

Deutsch

 Version

 FDZ-Datenreport

 Fragebögen

 Auszählungen

 FDZ-Methodenreport

LPP, Welle 1617

 FDZ Datenreport 04/2018  Fragebögen 1617  Auszählungen 1617  FDZ Methodenreport 11/2018
 FDZ Methodenreport 12/2018

LPP, Welle 1415

 FDZ Datenreport 06/2016

 Fragebögen 1415

 Auszählungen 1415  FDZ Methodenreport 02/2016
 FDZ Methodenreport 03/2016
LPP, Welle 1213  FDZ Datenreport 01/2015  Fragebögen 1213  Auszählungen 1213  FDZ Methodenreport 03/2015
 FDZ Methodenreport 02/2015

Englisch

 Version

 FDZ-Datenreport

 Fragebögen

 Auszählungen

 FDZ-Methodenreport

LPP, Welle 1617

 FDZ Datenreport 04/2018  Fragebögen 1617  Auszählungen 1617  FDZ Methodenreport 05/2015

LPP, Welle 1415

 FDZ Datenreport 06/2016  Fragebögen 1415  Auszählungen 1415  FDZ Methodenreport 05/2015
LPP, Welle 1213  FDZ Datenreport 01/2015  Fragebögen 1213  Auszählungen 1213  FDZ Methodenreport 05/2015

Datenzugang

LPP steht den Forscherinnen und Forschern über folgenden Datenzugangsweg zur Verfügung:

  • Gastaufenthalt inklusive Datenfernverarbeitung. Weitere Informationen zur Beantragung eines Gastaufenthalts. Bei der Beantragung des LPP werden immer die Befragungsdaten des LPP und das IAB-Betriebspanel zur Verfügung gestellt.

Testdaten

Die Testdaten dienen der Vorbereitung von Auswertungsprogrammen im Vorfeld der Datenfernverarbeitung und von Gastaufenthalten. Für die Testdaten gilt: Alle Variablen der Originaldaten sind enthalten, haben die gleichen Variablennamen und Variablen- und Wertelabels. Die einzelnen Wellen können zu einem Längsschnitt aufgebaut werden. Da die Testdaten allgemein zugänglich sind, müssen Sie absolut anonymisiert sein. Aufgrund der Anonymisierung ermöglichen die Testdaten keine inhaltlichen Auswertungen!

Weitere Arbeitshilfen

  • Measuring the Use of Human Resources Practices and Employee Attitudes: The Linked Personnel Panel
    In Kampkötter et al. (2016) findet sich eine Zusammenfassung des Datensatzes
  • Aufbau eines Paneldatensatzes:
    Für die Aufbereitung eines Panels stehen Stata-Programme zur Verfügung.
  • FDZ Methodenreport 01/2008: Das IAB-Betriebspanel – von der Stichprobe über die Erhebung bis zur Hochrechnung.
    Im FDZ Methodenreport 1/2008 werden methodische Aspekte des IAB-Betriebspanels umfassend erläutert. Damit soll in erster Linie der Einstieg in die Analysen mit dem IAB-Betriebspanel erleichtert werden. Gleichzeitig kann der Beitrag auch als Nachschlagewerk bei methodischen Fragen zum Datensatz genutzt werden. Eine kurze Beschreibung finden Sie zudem in Schmollers Jahrbuch 2009.
  • Englische Labels:
    Für das LPP stehen auch englische Variablen- und Wertelabels zur Verfügung. In Stata können die englischen Labels mit dem Befehl "label language en" aktiviert werden.

Weitere Arbeitshilfen wie die Vorgaben zum Zitieren der Daten und Datendokumentation, sowie Publikationen zur Arbeit mit den FDZ-Daten finden Sie hier.

Zitation

Forschende, die mit dem LPP arbeiten, sind verpflichtet, in ihren Publikationen die Datenbasis und Datendokumentation inklusive DOI durch folgenden Hinweis anzuzeigen:

Daten:

Die Datengrundlage dieses Beitrags bildet das Linked Personnel Panel (LPP), Welle 1617, DOI: 10.5164/IAB.LPP1617.de.en.v1. Der Datenzugang erfolgte über einen Gastaufenthalt am Forschungsdatenzentrum der Bundesagentur für Arbeit im Institut für Arbeitsmarkt- und Berufsforschung (FDZ) und anschließend mittels kontrollierter Datenfernverarbeitung beim FDZ.

Datendokumentation:
  • Mackeben, Jan; Ruf, Kevin; Grunau, Philipp; Wolter, Stefanie (2018): LPP – Linked Personnel Panel 1617 – Arbeitsqualität und wirtschaftlicher Erfolg: Längsschnittstudie in deutschen Betrieben (Datendokumentation der dritten Welle), FDZ-Datenreport 04/2018 (de), Nürnberg. DOI: 10.5164/IAB.FDZD.1804.de.v1
  • Mackeben, Jan; Ruf, Kevin; Grunau, Philipp; Wolter, Stefanie (2018): LPP – Linked Personnel Panel 1617 – Quality of work and economic success: longitudinal study in German establishments (data documentation on the third wave), FDZ-Datenreport 04/2018 (en), Nürnberg. DOI: 10.5164/IAB.FDZD.1804.en.v1
  • Schütz, Holger; Knerr, Petra; Metselaar, Carolin; Middendorf, Lena (2018): IAB-Beschäftigtenbefragung – Projekt „Arbeitsqualität und wirtschaftlicher Erfolg: Panelstudie zu Entwicklungsverläufen in deutschen Betrieben – Personenbefragung“, – 3. Erhebungswelle. FDZ-Methodenreport 11/2018 (de), Nürnberg. DOI: 10.5164/IAB.FDZM.1811.de.v1
  • Tschersich, Nikolai; Gensicke, Miriam (2018): Vertiefende Betriebsbefragung – „Arbeitsqualität und wirtschaftlicher Erfolg“ – 2016 – Welle 3. FDZ-Methodenreport 12/2018 (de), Nürnberg. DOI: 10.5164/IAB.FDZM.1812.de.v1

Gemäß FDZ-Datennutzungsvertrag ist jede Art von Publikation, die aus der Arbeit mit FDZ-Daten hervorgeht, dem FDZ spätestens einen Monat nach dem Veröffentlichen per E-Mail an iab.fdz@iab.de anzuzeigen. Im Rahmen der Meldung ist eine elektronische Version der Druckfassung bzw. nach der Veröffentlichung ein Sonderdruck oder eine Kopie der Publikation kosten- und entgeltfrei zu übermitteln.

Datenversionen

>> Weitere Informationen zu anderen LPP-Versionen.

 

 

Infobereich.

Abspann.