Institut für Arbeitsmarkt- und Berufsforschung

Navigation zu den wichtigsten Bereichen.

Inhaltsbereich: Institut für Arbeitsmarkt- und Berufsforschung

Linked Personnel Panel (LPP) survey data linked to administrative data of the IAB (LPP-ADIAB) - Version 7517 v1

DOI: 10.5164/IAB.LPP-ADIAB7517.de.en.v1

Summary

With the LPP, the IAB provides a novel data product for personnel economic research in Germany. The simultaneous observation of employer and employee perspective allows both cross and longitudinal analyses of the relationship between HR management, individual job quality and firm performance. The following central questions can be answered on the basis of the data: Which HR management instruments are used by establishments? Are there differences in the heterogeneity of application, for instance with respect to establishment size classes or sectors? How do HR management strategies develop over time? Is there an impact of certain HR management strategies on firm performance? Is there an impact of certain HR management strategies on employees’ attitudes, satisfaction, health status, commitment etc.? The linkage of the surveys with the IAB Establishment Panel offers further analytic potential.

For detailed information on the IAB Establishment Panel please refer to the Establishment Panel web sites of the department 'Establishments and Employment' as well as to the related FDZ web site.

Dataset Descriptions and Frequencies

This FDZ data report alone is not enough, however, to work with LPP-ADIAB 7517 data; it is meant as a supplement to the existing documentation concerning the LPP. 

German
English

Data Access

LPP-ADIAB is available via the following way of access:

  • On-site Use included Remote Data Access. Further information on Applying for on-site use. With your application to LPP-ADIAB we provide automatically the IAB Establishment Panel and the administrative individiual data. Add-ons from BHP have to be indicated in your application.

Test data

Test data help to prepare programs ahead of on-site and remote data access. No test data exists for the LPP-ADIAB itself, but the test data of the LPP and the SIAB can be used for preparation. The test data include all variables of the original data with the same variable name variable label and value label. It is possible to generate a panel over all waves with coherence of characteristics over time. They are freely accessible over the web and therefore have to be anonymised. That means: Test data are random and therefore not eligible for Analysis!

Furthermore we recommend users to make use of the test data for the Sample of Integrated Labour Market Biographies (SIAB) in order to prepare the analysis of the administrative data. Although these data are based on a different sample, they contain the same variables. However, it is not possible to merge the LPP test data with the SIAB test data. To the SIAB test data.

Other Working Tools

  • We provide person and establishment fixed effects (AKM effects) for this data set. To access the effects in an existing project please write an email to iab.fdz@iab.de. You find further Information here.
  • Measuring the Use of Human Resources Practices and Employee Attitudes: The Linked Personnel Panel
    The paper by Kampkötter et al. (2016) offers a summary of the data.
  • Generation of a Panel:
    We provide Stata programs to generate a Panel.
     
  • FDZ Methodenreport 1/2008: Das IAB-Betriebspanel – von der Stichprobe über die Erhebung bis zur Hochrechnung [The IAB Establishment Panel - Sample, Survey and Weighting]:
    The FDZ Methodenreport 1/2008 discusses methodological aspects of the IAB Establishment Panel. Primarily, it is meant to facilitate first-time analysis of the dataset. Also, the article may be used as a reference for methodological issues related to the IAB Establishment Panel. A brief description can be found in
    Schmollers Jahrbuch 2009.
  • English Labels:
    The LPP is available with English labels. Stata user can get access to the labels by using the command "label language en".

Further working tools as a list of BHP variables, the standards for the citation of data and data documentation and papers on working with the FDZ data can be found here.

Citation

Researchers working with the LPP-ADIAB are obligated to acknowledge the data base and its documentation within their publications, including the DOI, by using the following reference:

Data:

This study uses the LPP survey data linked to administrative data of the IAB, Version LPP-ADIAB 1975 - 2017. DOI: 10.5164/IAB.LPP-ADIAB7517.de.en.v1. Data access was provided via on-site use at the Research Data Centre (FDZ) of the German Federal Employment Agency (BA) at the Institute for Employment Research (IAB) and subsequently remote data access.

Data documentation:
  • Jan Mackeben, Kevin Ruf, Tobias Haepp, Stefanie Wolter, Philipp Grunau (2019): LPP-Befragungsdaten verknüpft mit administrativen Daten des IAB (LPP-ADIAB 7517) 1975 - 2017. FDZ-Datenreport, 07/2019 (de), Nürnberg. DOI: 10.5164/IAB.FDZD.1907.de.v1
  • Jan Mackeben, Kevin Ruf, Tobias Haepp, Stefanie Wolter, Philipp Grunau (2019): LPP-Linked Personell Panel Survey data linked with administrative data of the IAB (LPP-ADIAB 7517) 1975–2014. FDZ-Data Report, 07/2019 (en), Nuremberg. DOI: 10.5164/IAB.FDZD.1907.en.v1

Data Versions

>> Further information on other versions of the LPP dataset.

 

 

Infobereich.

Abspann.

Institut für Arbeitsmarkt- und Berufsforschung

Navigation zu den wichtigsten Bereichen.

Inhaltsbereich: Institut für Arbeitsmarkt- und Berufsforschung

Linked Personnel Panel (LPP) verknüpft mit den administrativen Daten des IAB (LPP-ADIAB) - Version 7517 v1

DOI: 10.5164/IAB.LPP-ADIAB7517.de.en.v1

Kurzbeschreibung

Mit dem LPP bietet das IAB ein neues Datenprodukt für die personalökonomische Forschung in Deutschland an. Die simultane Betrachtung von Arbeitgeber- und Beschäftigtenperspektive ermöglicht sowohl Quer- als auch Längsschnittanalysen von Wirkungszusammenhängen zwischen Personalmanagement, individueller Arbeitsqualität und betrieblichem Erfolg. Zentrale Fragestellungen, die anhand der Daten untersucht werden können, sind unter anderem: Welche Personalmanagementinstrumente nutzen Betriebe? Gibt es Unterschiede in der Heterogenität der Nutzung, beispielsweise hinsichtlich Betriebsgrößenklasse oder Branche? Welche Veränderungen in der Nutzung zeigen sich über die Zeit? Kann man einen Einfluss bestimmter Maßnahmen auf den wirtschaftlichen Erfolg beobachten? Wie wirken bestimmte Instrumente auf Mitarbeitereinstellungen, Motivation, Arbeitszufriedenheit, Gesundheit, Bindung an den Betrieb etc.? Die Verknüpfung der Befragungen mit dem IAB-Betriebspanel eröffnet weitere Analysepotentiale.

Ausführliche Informationen zum IAB-Betriebspanel finden Sie auf der Betriebspanel-Website des Forschungsbereichs "Betriebe und Beschäftigung" sowie auf der zugehörigen FDZ-Website.

Datensatzbeschreibungen und Auszählungen

Um mit den Daten des LPP-ADIAB 7517 arbeiten zu können, ist der u.g. Datenreport alleine nicht ausreichend, sondern als Ergänzung zu den bestehenden Dokumentationen zum LPP zu sehen.

Deutsch
Englisch

Datenzugang

LPP-ADIAB steht den Forscherinnen und Forschern über folgenden Datenzugangsweg zur Verfügung:

  • Gastaufenthalt inklusive Datenfernverarbeitung. Weitere Informationen zur Beantragung eines Gastaufenthalts. Bei der Beantragung des LPP-ADIAB werden immer die Befragungsdaten des LPP, das IAB-Betriebspanel und die administrativen Personendaten zur Verfügung gestellt. Ergänzungen aus dem BHP müssen extra beantragt werden.

Testdaten

Die Testdaten dienen der Vorbereitung von Auswertungsprogrammen im Vorfeld der Datenfernverarbeitung und von Gastaufenthalten. Für den LPP-ADIAB selbst existieren keine Testdaten, zur Vorbereitung können jedoch die Testdaten des LPP sowie die der SIAB verwendet werden. Für die Testdaten gilt: Alle Variablen der Originaldaten sind enthalten, haben die gleichen Variablennamen und Variablen- und Wertelabels. Die einzelnen Wellen können zu einem Längsschnitt aufgebaut werden. Da die Testdaten allgemein zugänglich sind, müssen Sie absolut anonymisiert sein. Aufgrund der Anonymisierung ermöglichen die Testdaten keine inhaltlichen Auswertungen!

Zur Vorbereitung der Analysen mit den administrativen Daten empfehlen wir die Testdaten für die Stichprobe der Integrierten Arbeitsmarktbiografien (SIAB) zu verwenden. Diese basieren zwar auf einer anderen Stichprobe, enthalten jedoch die gleichen Merkmale. Das Zusammenspielen der LPP-Testdaten mit den SIAB-Testdaten ist nicht möglich. Zu den SIAB-Testdaten.

Weitere Arbeitshilfen

  • Für diesen Datensatz stehen personen- und betriebsfixe Effekte (AKM-Effekte) zur Verfügung. Diese können für bestehende Projekte formlos per E-Mail an iab.fdz@iab.de beantragt werden. Weitere Informationen finden Sie hier.
  • Measuring the Use of Human Resources Practices and Employee Attitudes: The Linked Personnel Panel
    In Kampkötter et al. (2016) findet sich eine Zusammenfassung des Datensatzes
  • Aufbau eines Paneldatensatzes:
    Für die Aufbereitung eines Panels stehen Stata-Programme zur Verfügung.
  • FDZ Methodenreport 01/2008: Das IAB-Betriebspanel – von der Stichprobe über die Erhebung bis zur Hochrechnung.
    Im FDZ Methodenreport 1/2008 werden methodische Aspekte des IAB-Betriebspanels umfassend erläutert. Damit soll in erster Linie der Einstieg in die Analysen mit dem IAB-Betriebspanel erleichtert werden. Gleichzeitig kann der Beitrag auch als Nachschlagewerk bei methodischen Fragen zum Datensatz genutzt werden. Eine kurze Beschreibung finden Sie zudem in Schmollers Jahrbuch 2009.
  • Englische Labels:
    Für das LPP stehen auch englische Variablen- und Wertelabels zur Verfügung. In Stata können die englischen Labels mit dem Befehl "label language en" aktiviert werden.

Weitere Arbeitshilfen wie Informationen zu den angebotenen Klassifikationen der Wirtschaftszweige, eine Übersicht der Beitragsbemessungs- und Geringfügigkeitsgrenzen, eine Liste der BHP-Merkmale, die Vorgaben zum Zitieren der Daten und Datendokumentation, sowie Publikationen zur Arbeit mit den FDZ-Daten finden Sie hier.

Zitation

Forschende, die mit dem LPP-ADIAB arbeiten, sind verpflichtet, in ihren Publikationen die Datenbasis und Datendokumentation inklusive DOI durch folgenden Hinweis anzuzeigen:

Daten:

Die Datengrundlage dieses Beitrags bilden die LPP-Befragungsdaten verknüpft mit administrativen Daten des IAB, Version LPP-ADIAB 1975 - 2017. DOI: 10.5164/IAB.LPP-ADIAB7517.de.en.v1. Der Datenzugang erfolgte über einen Gastaufenthalt am Forschungsdatenzentrum der Bundesagentur für Arbeit im Institut für Arbeitsmarkt- und Berufsforschung (FDZ) und anschließend mittels kontrollierter Datenfernverarbeitung beim FDZ.

Datendokumentation:
  • Jan Mackeben, Kevin Ruf, Tobias Haepp, Stefanie Wolter, Philipp Grunau (2019): LPP-Befragungsdaten verknüpft mit administrativen Daten des IAB (LPP-ADIAB 7517) 1975 - 2017. FDZ-Datenreport, 07/2019 (de), Nürnberg. DOI: 10.5164/IAB.FDZD.1907.de.v1
  • Jan Mackeben, Kevin Ruf, Tobias Haepp, Stefanie Wolter, Philipp Grunau (2019): LPP-Linked Personell Panel Survey data linked with administrative data of the IAB (LPP-ADIAB 7517) 1975–2014. FDZ-Data Report, 07/2019 (en), Nuremberg. DOI: 10.5164/IAB.FDZD.1907.en.v1

Datenversionen

>> Weitere Informationen zu anderen LPP-Versionen.

 

Infobereich.

Fehlerkorrektur

Es wurde ein Fehler in den Labels der Variable „estatvor“ (Beschäftigungsstatus vor Arbeitssuche) entdeckt. Weitere Informationen und Hinweise zur Korrektur des Fehlers finden Sie auf folgendem Infoblatt.
(19.10.2020)

Abspann.